What is your current Job Title or Role?
Impact Lab Project Manager
What advice would you have for young women who are interested in a STEM career or job?
Its not a question of "Why would you", but one of "Why not?". If you have an interest in any STEM theme then find out more and look for opportunities to develop further. It will in all likelihood lead to a very diverse and rewarding career.
How did you get to where you are today?
I was always pretty good at math but more financial focused, that alongside being someone who is organised and good at planning, project management is an area which has come very naturally to me. It has given me an opportunity to be a highly skilled generalist which in an arena of specialists is very useful indeed. I have a Degree but also PRINCE 2, Management and Teaching qualifications and I do believe that lifelong learning is worth the effort. I worked in the civil service for 14 years and have always worked in the education sector in the broadest sense. For me it doesn't really matter what the project is, if it involved relationship building and partnership coordination that's what I have found is essential to achieve results.
What do you do on a daily basis in your work?
Find, support and collaborate with businesses and academics. To find solutions and partnerships which can be developed to support projects which aim to develop an idea further or proof of concept. Part of my role is process orientated, following systems and procedures, ensuring paperwork is fit for audit. Part is planning and working out the best way to achieve results.
Who or what inspired you to get into STEM?
Honestly, I just sort of ended up in STEM. I have managed projects and funding contracts for almost 20 years, most of these have been around different funding streams to support individuals or businesses. But my current role has opened up such great projects that i am very happy to now be involved in all areas of Science, Technology Engineering and Maths.
What do you enjoy most about your role?
The variety. Working with businesses from across any sector I never know who I will meet next or what support they are looking for.
What do you like to do outside work?
I am a governor at both a local primary and secondary school and with two young children I spend time with family outside of work. My favorite place being the beach. I feel very fortunate to live in such a wonderful part of the country, Devon and Cornwall offer so much.