What is your current Job Title or Role?
Health Physicist
What advice would you have for young women who are interested in a STEM career or job?
Even if you don't know exactly what you want to do as a career, skills gained in a STEM job are very transferable and will allow you to move around a range of different roles. Any work experience is good work experience, even if it is not related to STEM.
How did you get to where you are today?
I did a degree in Biology at the University of Bath. As part of this I did a placement year in the agriculture industry, which I could not recommend enough. I have no doubt that this led me to where I am today, by removing the problem of not being able to find work without experience. After graduating I joined Becton Dickinson as a Microbiology Laboratory Technician, working day-to-day in the lab. This was an excellent starting role, with good training, support and development of STEM skills. Working for BD gave me the right experience to apply for the Health Physics Graduate Scheme. I now work as an Operational Health Physicist, and I couldn't be happier!
What do you do on a daily basis in your work?
I am part of a team who look after Devonport Dockyard with respect to radiation hazards from nuclear submarines. My day can vary between helping Production teams to complete their jobs safely, to attending meetings on the design of new facilities, to crawling around a submarine looking for hidden valves!
Who or what inspired you to get into STEM?
I had a very enthusiastic Biology teacher at school, who inspired me to do a degree in Biology. Also my Dad was very good at suggesting a range of (mostly suitable) STEM careers whilst I was growing up.
What do you enjoy most about your role?
I enjoy interacting with different teams around Devonport Dockyard, and providing a support service to a very busy, complex, high-pressured engineering program. I also really enjoy being able to go on board submarines - the novelty still hasn't worn off!
What do you like to do outside work?
I play netball every week with some friends from work, and enjoy paddle boarding and running. I have recently done a short course in Pot Throwing at Plymouth College of Art, and hope to continue with that next winter. I am also trying, very badly, to learn to surf!