What is your current Job Title or Role?
Associate Dentist
What advice would you have for young women who are interested in a STEM career or job?
Ensure that you take separate science subjects at school and look carefully at the university entry requirements for your area of interest as some universities have mandatory subjects. For dentistry, you had to have chemistry, but you could have maths or physics.
How did you get to where you are today?
From University, I worked in the hospital for a year doing maxillofacial surgery. Then I travelled around New Zealand working before settling back in Devon. I set up a practice with a friend and had good 10 years before leaving to undertake further study at University. I am now working in several practices offering high level dental care including dental implants and advanced restorative dental services.
What do you do on a daily basis in your work?
General dentistry but with a special interest in advanced restorative work (management of the worn down or damaged teeth) and replacing missing teeth with dental implants. I also offer intravenous sedation services to help nervous patients access dental care that they would not otherwise manage.
Who or what inspired you to get into STEM?
I always wanted to do something science based as i enjoyed this at school. I was originally considering chemical engineering but felt that this would be male dominated and a bit dirty(!) so then I considered Medicine. I will always be grateful to my chemistry teacher Mr Weston who suggested a career in Dentistry as being more flexible than medicine and more conducive to a family life.
What do you enjoy most about your role?
Helping patients to achieve oral health and giving them a positive experience at the dentist; dispelling their preconceived ideas about what dental care is. Seeing patients who were previously debilitated restored and the confidence that this gives them and the impact this has on their family's dental care.
What do you like to do outside work?
With work and family life, it is a challenge now to have much time to 'play' compared to the 'BC (before children) days'. I find running and fitness a good way to balance the stress of my job and enjoy horseriding and pootling about in my vegetable patch 'growing my own'.