What is your current Job Title or Role?
Apprentice Construction Technician
What advice would you have for young women who are interested in a STEM career or job?
Take advice from anyone and everyone, but always make your own decisions. And I believe that sometimes the most rash decisions lead to the greatest opportunities - certainly always have with me.
How did you get to where you are today?
Worked hard in school, continued study into sixth form to complete A levels in Maths, Geography and Product Design. Soon after completing the two years I landed a job with Shared Apprenticeships South West as an Apprentice Construction Technician, hosted by Midas. My enthusiasm for trying new things has meant that people are willing to help me develop and learn, and I am so appreciative. It is down to your attitude and appreciation that you succeed - everyone supports one another, and works as a team.
What do you do on a daily basis in your work?
Get into the office (or on-site!) for an 8am start - make everybody a cuppa T of course, and then join in on the commotion that would have already begun that morning - I get to be a part of solving these problems, get to go out on-site to measure, to guide visitors and to ask as many questions as I like.
Who or what inspired you to get into STEM?
The absolutely brilliant thing about working in STEM, more specifically for me in construction, is that there is so much to do - everyday is busy, and there are non-stop challenges which is why it is incredibly fast-paced, and so rewarding.
What do you enjoy most about your role?
There is always, always a question to ask. There will always be something you don't know, somebody new to meet and I know that this will never change - I know that when I'm 50 I will not be bored; I will still be learning and smiling.
What do you like to do outside work?
I have an extremely fun and hectic life, exercising in the early morning before work. I like singing in the car both on my way to work, and back home - and spend my evenings collecting things from gumtree and upholstering or upcycling my finds, I love bowling, kayaking, country dancing, roller blading and cycling. I live a busy, busy life, and I love every day of it