What is your current Job Title or Role?
Senior Mechanical Engineer
What advice would you have for young women who are interested in a STEM career or job?
My advice would be to be passionate about what you do which keeps the work interesting and enjoyable. Explore different types of STEM fields and get physical experience so you can decide which suits you the best. Think outside the box; engineering doesn’t have to mean heavy industry.
How did you get to where you are today?
I dropped out of college at 18 and got a job in a textile factory. When I was made redundant I moved back home to Plymouth where I joined an apprenticeship scheme. Since then have worked my way to a BEng(Hons) on a part time basis alongside my day job. The joy of this route is that I have hands on experience alongside my degree so I was able to get chartered within one year of graduating from Plymouth University.
What do you do on a daily basis in your work?
My current role involves supporting mechanical Design Changes. This means I need to have an in depth understanding of the system involved and how that integrates with the platform as a whole. There’s quite a bit of project management and liaison with other departments, customers and contractors. I have recently undertaken a number of independent technical assessments and briefed my findings to senior management. I also support a number of junior engineers through their graduate scheme towards chartership.
Who or what inspired you to get into STEM?
It was a number of things really; I was good at maths as a youngster and because of this I really enjoyed it. I didn’t really do STEM options at GCSE and it wasn’t until I was a bit older that I understood what STEM was and how much it inspired me. Fundamentally I was trying to be more informed with maintaining my motorbike and also supporting my dad, who is in the Royal Navy.
What do you enjoy most about your role?
The variety of problems and types of project I could be involved with. I also enjoy collaborating with other fields to gain better insights into things i may not have experienced before.
What do you like to do outside work?
I am currently working on bespoke pattern development for clothing. This involves the use of CAD, which keeps me using skills I would otherwise forget. I feel the fields of craft and design are important. When I’m not sewing I sing in an Acapella group, it is very rewarding singing as part of a large choir and I find the whole experience extremely uplifting. I also do yoga to relax and build strength.