What is your current Job Title or Role?
Third Year Undergraduate Student in Human Biosciences
What advice would you have for young women who are interested in a STEM career or job?
Do it! Have the confidence to step into a world full of discovery and wonder! Pursuing a career within STEM leaves you with many possibilities, you develop so many transferable skills that enable you to adapt and suit any environment making career possibilities endless.
How did you get to where you are today?
I was lucky to have such a supportive family that encouraged me to pursue my dreams into science. They helped me develop enough confidence and motivation to push myself into something that I originally thought was too daunting.
What do you do on a daily basis in your work?
I attend University full time at Plymouth and am currently working in the labs on a dissertation primarily focused upon developing antimicrobial peptides towards antibacterial resistant E.coli. Although sometimes the work is difficult and requires much focus the rewards gained inspire me to continue into a research based career.
Who or what inspired you to get into STEM?
I have always had an inquisitive mind and am forever asking questions. So I figured why not enter a career where I can find the answers to my questions myself? That way I learn along the way, which I love, as well as produce my own results and get the overall satisfaction of the hard work I've put in. My parents would also buy me science based Christmas presents, at my request, that just helped me to understand the fun and interesting side of science.
What do you enjoy most about your role?
I love learning as well as using the knowledge to work towards an outcome. For example, I've learnt about the threat antibiotic resistance globally poses and find it interesting. To then have a role in potentially developing new therapies towards such a major threat is just fascinating and really motivates me to achieve the best I can.
What do you like to do outside work?
Outside of Uni I work in a camping shop and I love going to the gym as well as socialising with my friends, whether film nights, cooking together or nights out!