What is your current Job Title or Role?
Environmental Research Scientist
What advice would you have for young women who are interested in a STEM career or job?
If it's what you want to do, pursue it. There may be set-backs, but view them as learning opportunities and keep going, and allow your interests to develop and evolve as you go.
How did you get to where you are today?
Growing up I enjoyed spending time outside, so when I decided I wanted to pursue a career in science I wanted to incorporate my love of the outdoors too and I chose to study for a degree in Environmental Science. During my summer holidays, I embarked on research internships with universities local to me, these introduced me to laboratory working and gave me a good introduction to conducting scientific research. After completing my undergraduate degree, I secured a scholarship to study for a PhD in Environmental Science, studying nutrient behaviours in soils. Alongside developing my research specialism, my PhD enabled me to develop a range of transferable skills which I have utilised across a number of subsequent industry-based research projects in my current role. I am presently based up north, but am working on an ongoing research project with Plymouth University, which is also where I studied for my PhD, so I feel strong links with Plymouth.
What do you do on a daily basis in your work?
I now work in an industry-based research and development, working to reduce the environmental impact of commercial products through studying their chemical properties and modelling they way they behave across different environments.
Who or what inspired you to get into STEM?
My love for being outdoors, combined with a desire to understand how things work are what led me to pursue a career in science.
What do you enjoy most about your role?
I enjoy the opportunity to continually study and learn about subject that interests me. To see my research having a direct and positive impact is exciting and rewarding.
What do you like to do outside work?
In my spare time, I enjoy hiking, rock climbing and running. Alongside reading and spending time with friends and family.